Another EuroTrip and Getting Back on Track

Just posting a quick update! As you may know from my last post, life has been a bit of a challenge. A week or so before my 31st birthday, my husband (with whom I have been together for 11 1/2 years) and I decided to separate. It has been a challenging six months, to say the least. I’m happy to report that overall, things are going well and I believe that 2017 has a lot of great stuff in store for me.

After my last post, I found an apartment and moved out. In early October, I started divorce proceedings and it will be final on January 3rd. The sale of our house should go through in the next few weeks – all of these things are a stressful process. But, I’m happy to say that we have completed this process with zero arguments, remaining friends, and without lawyers. Even though it pains my heart that our marriage didn’t work out, I am truly lucky to have met and been with a wonderful person for so many years.

One day, I was sitting in my apartment… feeling sad… and wanting to cheer myself up. So, I decided to use airline miles and hotel points from all of my business travels to take a vacation in early October. For some reason, since I was a kid I have dreamed of going to Ireland. So…. on impulse I booked a flight to London and then to Dublin and I WENT! Not only did I go on the dream vacation, but I went alone. Something I never thought I would do and sometimes still can’t believe I did! I included some pictures below of the trip! It was an incredible experience and I can’t put into words how grateful I am to have my health and so much opportunity.

Heading into the holidays, my weight is at the lowest it has been for probably about 18 months. I’m happy and proud to say that during these difficult times, I have not turned to food for comfort and I am ending the year with a lot of momentum into getting (maybe finally) to a goal weight. This morning I weighed in at 190.6 lbs. Below is a picture of me at my company’s Christmas party last week!

Thanks to everyone for your kind messages and for keeping me in your thoughts! In my next post, I’ll be sure to take updated plastic surgery scar photos. It has been 2 years and 3 months since my first round, and 1 year and 7 months since the second round. I’m guessing the scars are as faded as they will ever be!

ethdkbm

December 2012 vs. December 2016 – 444 lbs to 190 lbs

9 thoughts on “Another EuroTrip and Getting Back on Track

  1. Girl! You look awesome!
    Thanks again for putting yourself out there for us to know that we are not alone in our journey after weight loss surgery 🙂
    I dream of going to Ireland one day too and if my boyfriend of 8+ years won’t go with me, I might just go solo, too!
    My surgery was 10/3/16 and at last check a couple weeks ago I was already down 63 lbs 🙂
    crazy question for you, someone just gave me beef chili… she probably meant well, but I haven’t attempted ground beef yet, can you tolerate ground beef? If yes, how long did you wait to try it?

    • I could tolerate ground beef. I believe I had some at maybe two months out… but took VERY small bites and chewed A LOT before swallowing!

      I highly recommend a trip to Ireland. It was an amazing experience. If I had to do it over again I would have taken a whole week to check out the entire country. The Irish countryside is beautiful!

  2. Congratulations on all you’ve achieved. Congratulations on being true to yourself and living fully. You’re an inspiration!
    In January I celebrate a year out from surgery with Dr. Capella.

  3. Thank you for being so inspiring! 🙂 You’ve had a crappy year and haven’t let it derail you. Your positive attitude and self-care through the bad bits are something I strive to mirror. Thanks for sharing your life and experiences with the world!

  4. Congratulation …… and you look so beautiful after weight loss.
    Losing weight and keeping it off is no easy task. Every day we’re confronted with unhealthy food choices like donuts and birthday cake at the office that can derail a healthy diet. Being overweight or obese also increases your risk for a variety of health conditions, including diabetes and heart disease. Weight loss surgery can improve fertility and reproductive outcomes in obese women, according to the Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists.

Leave a comment