Struggles with Determining “Goal” and Body Fat Percentage Testing

It’s been awhile since I’ve posted because there really hasn’t been much to say! Life has been pretty busy with full-time work, consulting work, school work, and trying to remain as active as possible. The dark, cold, and snowy Pennsylvania winter days have been pretty depressing to say the least! I really wanted to learn how to ski this winter, so that I would have some kind of outdoor activity to do; however, I made a deal with myself that I would not do so until I caught up on my graduate course from the fall that I got an extension on due to both plastic surgery and gallbladder removal surgery in the Fall. Nope, haven’t finished yet lol!

As far as plastic surgery recovery goes, everything is a-okay! My scars are healing, getting lighter in some places, but still pretty noticeable overall. I’m really hoping the arm scars get a bit lighter before the summer, but to be honest… I’m not sure that it would stop me from wearing something sleeveless, but I guess we’ll have to wait and see! The gallbladder surgery went well, nothing fun to report there. I haven’t had any issues with not having my gallbladder anymore, so I say good riddance!

On another note, I have had mixed feelings about my “goal” weight for quite some time now, to be honest. My original weight goal when I started this process was to be in a “normal” BMI range and for my height of 5’9.5″ that would put my weight at about 172-174 lbs, depending on the chart I have looked at online. Currently, my BMI ranges between 26.9 to 27.7, still in the overweight category.

I’m conflicted, because my goal is to be in optimum health and be a “normal” weight, but I’m just not sure I have the dedication to get down another 11-15 lbs. You would think after losing 260ish, it would be no big deal… but as most people know, the closer you get to a normal weight, the harder it becomes. I have achieved many things physically, I feel as though I look good for my weight, and I can fit into clothing from any store. So, why doesn’t that feel good enough? Honestly, I’m not sure I would ever be satisfied, even if I were at a “normal” weight…. yet I don’t want to fall back on making that some kind of “excuse” for not achieving something. It’s a weird mental place to be in for me.

But, on a positive note – a year ago, I did a BodPod body fat percentage test – long before I had plastic surgery. I believe, at the time, that I was around 200 lbs and my body fat percentage turned out to be 36.5%. I was pretty disappointed in that number at the time; however, I knew I had a long way to go so I shouldn’t have been surprised!

A couple of weeks ago, I repeated the test and was very surprised by the results. My weight has been bouncing between 185-190 lbs since things settled from plastic surgery, with my desired weight coming in at 185-187. According to the BodPod results, I have 132.7 lbs of lean muscle mass, which at my weight that day of 189.5, left me at 29.9% body fat. I was very surprised by this number because it does put me at the very top of the “acceptable” range for body fat%. So, now I’ve been asking myself – should this number be my goal? Should it be “good enough” that I am in an acceptable body fat % range, despite being “overweight” with my BMI?

Just something I’ve been thinking about. Do I think I need to lose more weight? No! But, part of me would still like to… so I remain undecided. The good news is that I’ve been maintaining well and I feel great. I’ve included some updated “before and after” pictures – very exciting! I cut my head out of the shiftless ones because I looked like a hot mess…. though it didn’t seem to bother me in the before pictures – yikes!!

Feb2015Comparison1

Feb2015Comparison2

17 thoughts on “Struggles with Determining “Goal” and Body Fat Percentage Testing

  1. Did you have to get smaller clothes after the skin was removed? Been wondering about that.

    Figuring out what your “goal” is, that’s so hard and so personal. I think you look great, healthy, and you don’t need to lose more. But it depends on how you feel and all that. I hear it never ends, you’ll always be working to keep at a good weight, so also being happy enough with where you are “right now” is important every step of the way.

    • Hey there! I actually didn’t change pants sizes really after plastics – only because my thighs still have excess skin on them and my calves are pretty thick in general. The waist in all of my pants are loose, but if I try to go down a size, my thighs are too tight! In dresses, I am more likely to wear a 10 or medium though!

  2. I’ve been following your journey for a while now. First of all, I have no idea what scale you’re using. You look fantastic. I think anyone following you would agree. If it’s a personal goal, then by all means challenge yourself. But if it’s based on how you look and your success so far? No way, you are fine the way you are. Congratulations.

    Rob
    aka weight2lose2013

  3. IMO, you should definitely use BF and not BMI to determine your goal weight (that is my plan as well). I think you look fantastic. I would have never guessed you were close to 30% in your after photos.

  4. I just wanted to tell you that you are a huge inspiration for me. What you have accomplished is astounding. It’s so rare to find fellow ‘heavy weights’ (400+) and even rarer yet to see them have such monumental success. I cannot fathom ever looking and feeling as amazing as you do. It’s just unimaginable to me, all I have known for years is physical discomfort and a life severely limited by my weight. Knowing that overcoming it is possible, that someone (you!) has done it, fills me with immense hope and a drive that has helped me drastically change my lifestyle over the past 2 months and will continue to do so in the 7ish months til I have surgery – and then long after that! So thank you for being you! And for sharing this journey with everyone.

    That was slightly off-topic! Back to your latest post: My first reaction is that the girl in your Before would probably love to bust through the pixels and slap the After silly. But! I know what you’re feeling is a very real and valid struggle, and I am sure I’d feel similar. I’m not much help here. I’d feel more inclined to focus on the BF % over the BMI any day, though.

    Wishing you the best!

  5. I hate it when people tell me this but, IMO you look fantastic, healthy and don’t need to lose anymore weight. Concentrate on making good food choices, maintaining, and exercising. That is alot for those of us with previous food/weight issues. You have accomplished so much and continue to inspire me!

  6. You look incredible. Personally, I don’t think you need to lose any more weight–you look perfect! But you are the one that lives in your body. You have to decide what is best for you, and if getting those last 15 pounds off is what you feel comfortable with, then by all means do so. 🙂 Don’t know if you’ve seen this, but it might be helpful to you in helping you determine where you want your body to settle: http://www.precisionnutrition.com/cost-of-getting-lean-infographic

  7. We get so caught up in the numbers game, and BMI chart is crap as it does not take into account morbid obesity or body frame of health issues.
    I was told by American friends in Israel who had their surgery in Spain with Dr.Bathazar that the ‘normal’ BMI for a morbidly obese person who loses their weight should be BMI 30. You did it!
    My highest weight was 270lbs/5ft; I had old-style ring in 1992 (suffered vomiting, developed severe gerd) and then in 2008 had RnY which gave me my life back in being able to eat and enjoy food. However RnY beans u need to take vitamin supplements for life.
    I had TT (panni) in 2011 weighing 182.6lbs -7 lbs were taken off; and BL/BR in 2012. Somehow, thank GD I have slowly lost weight and just jester day I weighed myself at the HMO clinic, 153.12 !
    I still fantasize to have my inner thighs done and lipo out the butt saddlebags of I can get HMO approval and I am still waiting on a medical review first.
    As far as my GP (without knowing my weight), I look fine. But I want to look better if possible. I also do not want to work to kill myself to lose the weight. This happened more or less on its own. Thyroid meds, adding coconut oil into my food, trying to avoid/limit my potato intake. I also had bunion surgery with complications and being on antibiotic I think changes my metabolism.

  8. You are such an inspiration. I love seeing your updates and I am trying really hard to lose the last 20-25 pounds so I can get my skin removed. It is getting harder the farther out I get-but that makes me more and more committed to using this tool the right way! Keep up the great work! I think when I get close to whatever my goal is (I don’t know either!) my body will settle wherever it is comfortable at. I am 5’7″ and 208 right now, so I am hoping by my year post-op appointment we can discuss skin removal. Congratulations on all of your hard work and thank you for sharing!!

  9. You look incredible. I really mean it. The BMI is deeply flawed and at this point, since you look and feel good where you are, I’d stop. It’s got to be strange trying to NOT lose weight after such a long time of that being your life, but now you can divert more of your attention to another of your many goals. 🙂

  10. You seriously look amazing! I say totally stick with BF, too. I haven’t commented before, but I wanted to thank you for your candidness here. Yours was one of the first blogs I found when considering the sleeve and has helped me think about so many aspects of what the weight represents, especially since getting sleeved a month ago. You look great and your writing is great. 🙂

    One question that I am sure is so very much too personal, but: with the breast lift, did it affect the sensations you can experience? I don’t know if boob/nipple attention was a thing for you before, but has anything changed in regards to sexual experience since the surgery? And did Dr. Cappella say anything about how it c/would affect ability to breastfeed?

  11. A tip from someone who has lost roughly 265 lbs (and now has a 20% bfp) when you lose that amount of weight as quickly as you did, in addition to fat, your body burned quite a bit of muscle as well. This often leads to a higher body fat percentage even though you are within a healthy weight range. I’m sure you’ve heard this before, but if you want to lower that bfp focus much much more on strength over cardio. Get those muscles back! I wish you the best of luck!

  12. Funny that this was the very first blog that I found about VSG. We are the same height so It’s nice to see your progress. I had surgery 4 months ago and am looking forward to my “Onederland” moment in just 12 more lbs! Please check out my YouTube channel SleevedLadeeBeyU 🙂

  13. First off, you look amazing. Did you lift weights or exercise after your surgery? I just started the process for having the gastric sleeve surgery and I am very excited and motivated!

    • Hey there! I have gone through periods of more physical activity than others. I have lifted weights (very lightly) in the past, as well as running or biking. I am VERY far from an exercise junkie, but I try to stay active. The best exercise advice I can give you is to just stay active doing something you enjoy – because that is more sustainable than hitting the gym hard out of the gate and then it becoming more of a “chore” that you quit doing eventually

Leave a Reply

