Rollercoaster NSV (w/ pics) & Update

It’s been awhile since I’ve posted… but things have been going well. Like so many other people that have surgery, lose weight, and then sort of “disappear” from blogs and message boards, I’m just living life and finally experiencing all of the things I’ve felt that I’ve been missing for the past 7 or 8 years! I’ve been trying to keep busy this summer… maybe a little too busy (with work), but I’ve also been trying to have a lot of fun!!

Yesterday, I had the opportunity to cross a “30 by 30” task off of my list in the form of a rollercoaster NSV! The last time I was on a rollercoaster was almost exactly 9 years ago. My husband and I had just started dating and we decided to spend a weekend at Hershey Park in Hershey, PA. At the time, I would estimate that I weighed about 260 lbs (since I was about 245-250 when I met him and later that year in November, I was 274 at a doctor’s appointment). We had a great time on that day 9 years ago, but I will admit that it was a little bit upsetting (and a bit of an eye-opener) when it became apparent that I was on the verge of not being able to ride any of the rides due to my weight. Some of the rollercoaster seatbelts and fasteners were pretty close to not latching like they should. Needless to say, we haven’t been back since that day because my weight continued to climb until I hit my heaviest of 444 lbs in November 2012!

I’ve been bugging my husband for the last couple of months to go back so that I could ride on these rides. Finally, we did that yesterday and it really was a great time! Although, we did find that now that we’re older… we’re not as “care free” and are a little more afraid of dying on these rides than we used to be hahaha!

It truly is an amazing feeling to be able to walk around the park for hours and stand in line without being in pain… it’s amazing to sit in the seat without worry of having to get off due to my size… and it’s amazing to finally get to do something I’ve been longing to do for so many years. Focusing on being able to do things like this have become really important, since I’ve been in the same weight window of about 194-200 lbs for the past 4-5 months.

Now, for the pics! At the entrance of the park, they have measurement signs to show you how tall you have to be in order to ride certain rides. To be goofy, I stood next to one.. you know… just to make sure at almost 5’10” I would make the cut LOL!

10537369_10106833773440134_1670551176213359264_n

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here is a pic from the “Stormrunner” roller coaster of my husband and I from 2005. We were 20-21 years old in this pic lol! I was about 260 lbs in that pic.

CLX-3180_20140720_11374201

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here is a pic from the same “Stormrunner” roller coaster of my husband and I from yesterday. Feeling comfortable in the seat at around 198 lbs! 🙂

CLX-3180_20140720_11385807

2 thoughts on “Rollercoaster NSV (w/ pics) & Update

  1. Your faces both have the same expression in both pictures- you totally excited, and your husband no so sure…..

Leave a Reply

