Plastic Surgery Consult #1

Yesterday was my first plastic surgery consult. Although I sent pictures to Dr. Sauceda in Mexico for a quote, I haven’t actually spoken with a plastic surgeon directly regarding body contouring surgery. My appointment yesterday was with Dr. Joseph Capella in Ramsey, NJ. I have heard so many great things about him and his work looks excellent (from the pictures I have seen online) so I thought I would check him out! Ramsey isn’t necessarily CLOSE to me, but I figured the 4 hour drive would worth it if I could finally feel whole again after the removal of all of the excess skin!

I have heard so many great things about Dr. Capella as a person and how he has an excellent bedside manner. Still, I was not prepared for how absolutely incredible he was in person. No joke… I may have fallen in love with him a little bit HA HA! I haven’t met too many physicians in my life that are down to earth and friendly – let alone a surgeon. He was so incredibly kind, patient, and encouraging. He was so pleasant and smiling the entire time I was there and he was just so genuine. Clearly he is a very talented and intelligent man.

The good news: he thinks I’m an excellent candidate for surgery. He estimated that he would remove about 10 lbs through the breast lift, extended arm lift, and lower body lift procedures. I realize that is not just pure skin, some fat will come off with it… but after losing 250 lbs, my body is a mess and I’m so looking forward to feeling good about myself with the clothes OFF! Dr. Capella was very impressed with my weight loss and the fact that my body was in really good shape – especially considering I’ve lost 250 lbs. He doesn’t feel that I need to lose any more weight either – regardless of my “overweight” status on a BMI chart. I was happy to hear that since I was worried he might say “You need to lose 20 more lbs before I’ll operate on you!”

He said he would do surgeries in two stages. First, the surgeries I mentioned above. Although he doesn’t think I’ll need more than a breast lift and that I may not want/need an inner thigh lift after the first round, he said he could do those two procedures separately after 3 months of healing from the others. If I end up being the 34C he anticipates when all is said and done, I wouldn’t care about implants… I guess my only worry is that my breasts would be lifted, but not look “full” – fullness is all I care about, not necessarily having a bigger chest. I’m unsure as to what I think about the thigh lift… I think I still might need it… but we’ll wait and see.

I was so convinced I would have to take the trip to Mexico and have everything done – but to be honest, I think I’d rather stay close to home and have my work done by Dr. Capella earlier – even if it means I can’t get a thigh lift done due to money and time off work. That’s how great he was and how great his work looks – at least in my eyes. He was also just so enthusiastic about giving me great results. He said repeatedly (with a huge smile), “I think you will be so happy with your results, I really think we can get you exactly what you’re looking for” and it really was very comforting. Comfort isn’t enough though…. if his work wasn’t amazing, I wouldn’t let his charisma alone convince me lol!

I’m hoping to have this done at the end of September – earlier than the December timeframe I originally planned. If I didn’t have to travel all the way to Mexico and go when my husband could be off (he’s a teacher) then there is no point in waiting – in my opinion. Like I said in my last post, I want to have kids within the next couple of years… so I have to finish with the “me time” and self improvement projects before priorities change lol!

So excited!!

3 thoughts on “Plastic Surgery Consult #1

  1. That is so exciting. I’ll be following your journey closely, I’ve been thinking about my skin a lot lately. He sounds like a fabulous doctor.

  2. Although I cannot talk about the plastic surgeon in Mexico I like to tell everyone that you get what you pay for. Its so important to do your homework, and make sure that the plastic surgeon you chose is board certified and has references.

Leave a Reply

