One Year Surgiversary! 248.4lbs Lighter and Loving Life!

Today marks the one year anniversary since my VSG surgery. WOW! The time has flown by so fast. I really couldn’t have asked for a better year. I started the six month supervised diet at 444.2 lbs and today I weighed in at my all-time low of 195.8lbs. In the year since surgery, I’ve lost 142.2 lbs, overall I’m down 248.4 lbs in 18 months. Some days I can’t even believe it!

So, what’s new with me? Well… as some of you may know the past few months have been a struggle. I don’t have the motivation to be super strict with my eating anymore and I currently sit about 20 lbs away from my original goal weight. Yes, it’s a bit frustrating for me to know that if I could have stayed strong (mentally) a bit longer, I could’ve been where I ultimately wanted to be by now. I tortured myself for awhile with this fact, but in the past couple of weeks I’ve decided to let it go. I’ve increased my calories (not because I think that’ll help me lose the weight, but because I’ve been actually hungry). I’m losing – slow and steady!

In the past month, I’ve taken two trips – one work and one personal. I travel a lot for work and I’ve always done well with planning/packing meals; however, these two trips were by plane… where I had no access to a car and no control over the food that was made available to me. What a challenge! I made some good choices and then I made some conscious choices to make bad choices (lol), and during each trip I came back to probably a 5-7 lb gain. YIKES!

It is scary to see how quickly the weight can pile on in just 4-5 days. It’s a good reminder for me that it wouldn’t be that hard to get myself back to that dark place where I was 400+ lbs. Thankfully, most of that weight is not “real” gain… so it comes off quickly; however, it is still a lot of work and a bit scary.

Thankfully, through therapy over the past year or so, I’ve learned not to feel the guilt and anxiety of a bit of a fall “off the wagon” and it really helps get me back on track. I mean, when you think about it… what’s the point of beating yourself up endlessly over something that is over and done with? Coming to this realization and letting go of that guilt has really served me well with getting back on track and doing what I need to do in order to maintain (which is essentially what I’ve been doing for the past 3 months).

What I have learned in the past year? That I don’t have anything figured out that’s for sure! What I do know is I’m so grateful to feel happier, healthier, and more confident. I have completely changed the way I approach my life. It’s a great feel and I hope it never ends! The downside to losing the weight? I can’t really think of one in particular – but I have noticed some insecurities coming through from my husband. Maybe I’ll write more on that later sometime!

So what’s next for me? I’m going to continue on path to very slow losses/maintenance. Maybe someday when the craziness of my full-time job, consulting business, and graduate school go away I will be able to put all of that motivation and mental energy back into faster weight loss. For now, I’m incredibly happy!

Tomorrow, I have a plastic surgery consult with Dr. Joseph Capella in New Jersey. I know what some of you may already be thinking, “It’s too early for you to be considering plastics.” but the fact is that I’m almost 29 years old with no children and I want them. I also know that I want plastic surgery. There is no way I’m going to be able to afford it after having children – at least not for many, many years and after losing almost 250 lbs… the waiting is just not going to happen. If I want to start a family, I need to get the ball rolling… so plastic consults here I come! Hopefully I can make it happen at the end of the year. I’ll update everyone on how the appointment goes! 🙂

Now for the pics!!! 🙂

BEFORE!

NikkeMooreBW

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Front_12-1-12

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

CURRENT!

NikkeHeadshot_04152014 NikkeNewDress_05012015 Nikke_PSUPolo_05062014 Nikke_05062014 20140505_190351

5 thoughts on “One Year Surgiversary! 248.4lbs Lighter and Loving Life!

  1. I just found your blog today from another one I was reading. I’m scrolling through your previous posts and love every one of them. Thanks so much for sharing your success and struggles online. I lost 150lbs in the past 2 years and gained 40 back in the last 5 months and I’m scared and struggling. You are so beautiful and inspirational, hopefully this is exactly what I need to get back on track. And the peach dress in this post is GORGEOUS on you! Thanks again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

