Autism Speaks 5K – So Close!!

So, today marked my first attempt at running an entire 5k! I’m happy to report that I did really well… I finished with a time of 34:02 and I ran for 98% of it. I didn’t know what to expect because I wasn’t sure what the running route was and WOW was it full of hills. I had serious doubts about me making it very far at all…. especially in the 37 degree weather we’re experiencing in Central PA this morning. Despite being able to run a complete 5K on a treadmill at the gym, I knew I was in for a rough time this week when I tried running outside twice this week when it was 55-60 degrees and my chest felt like it was on fire!

I’m really disappointed that I walked for part of the race. I made it SO close to the end… but unfortunately the race ended with the biggest hill of the entire thing and I walked up probably 2/3rds of it and then ran the remainder of the way. I still think I did really well though…. but I am NOT yet going to cross running a 5K off of my “30 by 30” list yet because I’m going to do more and I’m going to run the. entire. thing.

Speaking of the 30 by 30 list… I never quite got 30 things put on it LOL – does anybody have any suggestions?

Here is a pic of my hot-messness after the race! I’m also excited to report that the t-shirt is a large… and I had no trouble putting it on over under-armor, a t-shirt, and then a hooded sweatshirt! It’s insane that less than 18 months ago I was wearing a 4XL!

AutismSpeaks5K_04052014

7 thoughts on “Autism Speaks 5K – So Close!!

  1. Please don’t be disappointed…you did awesome things today. You raised money for a wonderful cause & ran a 5k (in the cold & with lots of hills)…I’m so proud of you & YOU should be feeling on top of the world. Way to go!

  2. YOU DID AWESOME! I’d kill to be able to run even 50% of a 5K! You watch, you will run all the ones you do from now on at 100%! I am super proud of you and what you have been able to accomplish!

Leave a Reply

