I DID IT!!!!! I RAN UP THE HILL!!!!!!

If you haven’t read the story about “The Hill” yet, then you might want to do that or this post won’t make a whole lot of sense to you lol!

I’m sure most people who have struggled with their weight can appreciate just how difficult a lot of everyday tasks can be. For me, it was walking up a large hill on the campus where I work. I dreaded that hill – and the first time I walked up it on March 1, 2011 when I started my current job, I literally almost got sick, fell over, and passed out. When I started this blog, I wrote the story of that day and vowed to someday run up the hill.

To be honest with you, when I wrote that sentence, I never actually thought it was an attainable goal. I felt helpless, hopeless, and at the time the possibility of achieving something like that wasn’t even something I could comprehend. Over the past 16 months, I have lost slightly over 245 lbs and in the past 3 months have started working on becoming more fit and running. Last week, I finished the Couch25K app, ran a full 5K on the treadmill, and vowed to run up the hill during Spring Break, which started today.

My amazing husband ran with me so that he could capture it on video. I’m so proud and excited to share it with all of you. Without the support I’ve gotten from friends online, I never would have been able to achieve half of what I have so far! I am so grateful for this second chance at life. There is nothing someone could say and nothing that could happen that would make me regret going through with surgery. You can say I took the easy way out, you can assume that I haven’t worked hard… but I know the truth, as do so many other people that struggle with obesity. This is battle I’m going to fight for the rest of my life. Maybe I’ll be successful in the long-term…. maybe I won’t… but at least I’m appreciating every healthy, happy, and momentous step along the way. Life is good and I’m not sitting on the sidelines watching it as it passes by anymore.

Thank you all!

 

22 thoughts on “I DID IT!!!!! I RAN UP THE HILL!!!!!!

  1. That is fantastic! I live on a huge hill and I remember the first time I walked down and then back up it after my surgery. It was like a whole new window to the world opened up for me. Good for you!!

  2. Amazing! You are such an inspiration! Thank you for sharing this. Be proud.

    I love that you have documented both sides of your experiences with this hill. It’s just amazing. I am blown away. Well done!!

  3. Wow… just…. wow. I am so impressed. Your story is SUCH an inspiration to me. I really love looking at the weight loss through your eyes. Being less than three weeks out from my sleeve surgery, seeing things like this are really inspiring. Thank you for your courage and for sharing it with us!!!

  4. Amazing! That is truly inspirational to people like me who are just starting out on their journey. You must feel like you can do anything now. Well done!!!

  5. Thank you for being such an inspiration to those of us just beginning our journey! You give me hope that I too can accomplish great things like this! 🙂

Leave a Reply

