NSVs: Present and Future!

I’m feeling really good today as I finished the last “day” of the Couch25K training app! There are 9 “weeks” of training and I believe I started about 3 1/2 months ago, so I guess that’s not too bad! The last week has you run for 30 minutes straight, although today I felt like I could have gone for a few more. I’m hoping that I can keep the momentum going so that I can actually run a real 5K sometime in maybe April?

In other exciting news, I booked my flight for a wedding I’m going to in Florida in April. I’ve only flown one other time in my life to Las Vegas in November 2011, at my heaviest weight of 444 lbs and a year before I started the supervised diet. It was NOT a pleasant experience and of course, I had to buy a second seat. I can’t imagine what it’s going to be like flying as a normal sized person. I can’t figure out why it is that I STILL feel anxiety about whether or not I’ll need a seat belt extender – or if I’ll fit into one seat. Maybe it’s just because I’ve never flown before without the anxiety? It’s irrational, but it’s there!

It’s great though that I’ll be able to cross a few things off of my “30 by 30” list. It’s amazing to me that I’ve already crossed off a decent amount of things – and that I’m looking to cross off #s 1, 4, 5, and 13 by the end of April! The NSVs are flowing and I’m hoping they keep on coming! Life is good!

3 thoughts on “NSVs: Present and Future!

  1. You have accomplished so much! You are going to ENJOY your flight – no need for a seat belt extender at all, Just revel in the wonderful feeling of space. (this one is on my list — I travel a lot and can’t wait until my first trip after weight loss! Cheers to you!

  2. Hey Nikke,

    That seatbelt extender thing was actually my very first NSV!!!!! Soooooo fun!!!! I know you won’t believe it until it happens but it totally will! Give yourself a challenge: just go to your seat first and fasten your seatbelt. If you find you need an extender (you WON’T) then you can just buzz the flight attendant. And you can practice by going to the movies and luxuriating in all the space you have in your seat now!! I’ve been at my weight for 2 years but I still get excited EVERY time!!! 😘😘😘

  3. I have read through from the beginning of your journey. You are so courageous! I have my own version of “The Hill’. My husband took me and the kids to a “short 1/2 mile hike’….that turned out to be quite a steep hill. After hoisting my ample bottom to the top of the hill I had what I can only call an “episode”. I couldn’t catch my breath, my head was pounding, my legs ached. my body tingled, and my vision was blurry. THAT was the moment I knew I had to change something. I cried all the way home. I was so embarrassed and scared. I am currently pursuing WLS at 274 lbs (5’6″ tall). I am excited for the future ahead and truly inspired and empowered by your story. Thank you for sharing with us…the good and the bad! Keep on fighting the good fight!

Leave a Reply

