After 15 Months, 4 Days, and 245lbs Lost…. I am in ONDERLAND!! (w/ pic)

Ok, so if you heard some crazy person “wooohooooo-ing” and celebrating this morning…. it was probably ME yelling all the way from Central PA!!! Why? Because as the title of my post states, 15 months and 4 days (who’s counting??) after starting my journey to a healthier, happier, life – I am in “ONDERLAND” at 199.2 lbs after losing EXACTLY 245 lbs.

As you  may or may not know, I’ve been going CRAZY over the scale and have really been struggling to get it to move for awhile now. On Wednesday, I decided to pull myself together, try to get really strict again with the eating, and I gave the scale batteries to my husband so I would stop the obsessive weighing. Although my eating was not perfect for those 4 days… it just goes to show that tightening up is important because I finally got to where I wanted to be!

I cannot be happier today. I do realize that it is just a “number on the scale” but it really does mean a lot to me. When I started, I never thought I would actually get here. This is the weight I was at about 10 1/2 years ago and it was my heaviest weight in high school. When I got a physical for the upcoming basketball season and I saw “200” on the scale, it scared me into losing 30 lbs down to 170 which is where I was at when I graduated. When I started college, the emotional eating went out of control and I ended up 444.2 lbs.

I never want to go back to that life. Things are so much better now. While I will say that losing weight doesn’t guarantee happiness in a person’s life…. it really made my great life as close to perfect as it could possibly be. I am so grateful to have this second chance – I really hope that I don’t blow it. I will NEVER say “X amount of lbs gone forever” because I know better…. I know just how easy it is to start gaining, head down a dark path, and live in a scary place called denial.

Where do I go from here? Well, I’m going to continue to try and be strict with my diet. If I fall off that wagon, so to speak, then I’m just going to get back up and try again. I’d still like to hit the high end of a “normal BMI” at 174ish lbs however, we’ll see how that goes! I’m going to do the BodPod testing to get an idea of what my body fat % is and then reassess. I would be happy if I spent the rest of my life at this weight; however, I do want to be as healthy as possible – especially since I’d like to start a family in the next couple of years!

I’m hoping to meet my goal of finishing the Couch25k app by the end of this week (end of Feb.) I have already ran one day of Week 9 for 30 minutes and it was exciting! I hope to run my first 5K in mid-April! I NEVER in a million years thought I would be able to finish the app when I started it 3 months ago!

So, I know I just posted a before and “during” photo the other day and I’m being a bit of an attention whore – but here is another! I bought this dress – a size 12 – over the weekend and to celebrate this BIG scale victory, I’m wearing it at work today. I feel like I could take over the world LOL!!

BEFORE – 444 lbs!

OnderlandBeforePics

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

“DURING” – 199.2 lbs

Nikke_BlueDress_02242014

29 thoughts on “After 15 Months, 4 Days, and 245lbs Lost…. I am in ONDERLAND!! (w/ pic)

  1. You are a true inspiration!!!! I am in the process of going thru all the testing for RNY. I’m hoping to have the surg in April. At 355lbs, I can see that there is hope for me. You look incredible and I’m sure you feel fantastic.
    Thank you for giving me the courage to follow thru with this decision to have the WLS.

    • I don’t know that there are words to describe how I feel day to day…. it’s just SO much better than it used to be. Today, that indescribable feeling is increased by 1000000! lol This really was the best decision I’ve ever made… I feel like I have a second chance at life!! Best of luck to you… I hope that you find it is a good choice for you as well!! Let me know if I can support you in any way!

  2. What an inspiration! I really really needed to see and hear this today. You truly look amazing. You look so happy and confident! You also look super firm and in good shape. This is such a huge victory. You should be sooo sooo sooo proud!!!! It looks like my VSG will be some time in April…..

    • Congrats on your upcoming surgery! It truly was the best decision I’ve ever made. Even though I have a lot of excess skin, I feel like I’m in good shape… feeling very fit and healthy for the first time in a LONGGGG time! Thank you so much!

  3. Nikke sweetie, I’m so, so excited for you!!! You are an amazing, strong woman!!! You have far outstripped me in determination. I’m just in awe of you. Not a fame whore AT ALL!!!

    Big, big hugs, beautiful! 😘

  4. NIKKI!!!!! I am so proud of you, I read this at work and almost started crying cause I was so excited for you!!! You have worked so hard on this journey you deserve to feel “high” all day 🙂 I am still waiting on approval for my revision from band-sleeve, I can’t wait to be where you are!!! YOU ARE AMAZING!!!!!

  5. WOW!! I let out a big “WHAT!!!???!!!” when I saw this! Just WOW!!!!! Pat yourself in the back for all your hard work!!! More exclamation points just because!!!!! Just wow. Thanks for being an inspiration 🙂

  6. Congratulations!!!! I don’t ‘know’ you, but I’m so proud! (I’ve been following your journey pretty much the whole time, but this is actually my first time commenting.) You’re definitely an inspiration for me – I started at a similar weight & also had VSG (Dec 2012). I’m not quite as far along as you are (was not nearly the hard worker before surgery that you were) – I’ve been sitting at 220 for a couple weeks now & this post is definitely a nudge for me to tighten up my diet a little 😉

    • Thanks so much for the support!! You can do it – onderland is waiting for you!!! Yes, tightening up the diet is definitely what I needed to do – and I still do. Every day I strive to stay right on plan and if I fail – then it’s a failure for that day, not overall! I’m just trying to get right back up on the horse!! Good luck to you and THANKS for commenting!!

Leave a Reply

