I’ve been a a bad girl, but I have good news to share!

So…. I’ve been a bad girl! I’ve done a TERRIBLE job this week with my vow to break my scale obsession and weigh myself once per week. I think there was only one day this week that I didn’t get on the scale in the morning…. ugh. I’m not happy about it, because I know that the minute any loss stops I’m going to be frustrated again. I KNOW this is something that I really need to work on and stick to it.

The good news is that after 14 months and 238.6 lbs lost, I have a BMI of 29.9 – which means that this chick is no longer severely morbidly obese, morbidly obese, or obese…. this chick is OVERWEIGHT baby! đŸ™‚ It’s very exciting!

Now, enough celebration… I’ve got to get a grip with the weighing myself thing. Maybe I should focus on just cutting back on weighing myself for now and phase into weighing once per week. I know to some this might seem like a really silly thing to spend so much time thinking about…. but I know that it’s something I need to do. I need to either weigh myself everyday and accept what the number says or I need to chill out and stop weighing so much. Sigh…..

5 thoughts on “I’ve been a a bad girl, but I have good news to share!

  1. Don’t let the scale define who you are. Don’t let it rule what you do every day. I think the advice I saw this week about not weighing daily until you hit goal is good advice–I will likely adopt this approach once I get there. Right now I’m weighing once a week and that works for me. It keeps me sane and helps me see patterns in my weight loss much easier than daily weigh ins would. I can spot general trends when I see the data week by week and it’s been really helpful in showing me HOW I’m losing rather than how much.

    • It’s something that I’m really working on for sure. My therapist is very concerned about the kinds of behaviors I was describing to her. I wish she would just give me all the answers so that I’ll be cured!! LOL I did TERRIBLE this week – weighed myself everyday. I weighed-in this morning and now I”m going to see if I can just make it until Thursday without doing it again. I don’t know why this seems to be so difficult for me! Weighing everyday didn’t become a problem until I started to get closer and closer to onderland!

  2. I know exactly how you feel. I have asked my partner to literally hide the scales from me until the next weigh in, as despite vowing to stop, I weighed EVERY DAY last week! It’s really hard, I know!

    It’s funny how we can exercise such amazing willpower in one area (less junk food/more exercise) but we are compelled to weigh!!

    • You are exactly right! I stayed off the scale for the first week, but last week I weighed myself every single day except for one. I’m wondering if this week I should just weigh less, but more than once per week – you know, phase the scale out little by little. Maybe I’ll aim to just make it by Thursday? Small changes over time? lol… I guess we’ll have to wait and see!! Hang in there!

  3. Nikke,
    You can’t beat yourself up too much about it. The more you do, the worse the spiral becomes. I think it’s something like when someone quits smoking they say they gain weight. That person is looking for something to take over the smoking habit and they develop a habit of eating instead of smoking. When we’re overweight, we control what we put in our mouths. Now that what’s going into you is being controlled, you’re possibly looking for something else to control. It’s just human nature. Just like someone who is quitting smoking can stay on top of their diet, you can do this! I’m pulling for all of you!

Leave a Reply

