I’ve made a decision to break up!

I’ve been going a little bit crazy lately. I am so desperately close to several milestones and my body just doesn’t want to give those victories to me lol. At 205.6 lbs, I will be considered “overweight”, I will weigh less than my husband, and I am SO close to onderland! The scale just isn’t cooperating. Yesterday I was 208.2, then for no apparent reason I was 209.8 this morning. This is the dance I’ve been doing with the scale for weeks and it’s really starting to get to me.

So… I don’t know if it’s a wise decision or not, but I’ve decided to break up with my scale. I am a “weigh yourself every day” kind of person… but I’ve recognized lately that I have been WAY too focused on that number – despite feeling my clothes getting bigger and my body changing, I can’t seem to let go of the fact that the scale isn’t moving in the direction or at the speed that I want it to.

Tomorrow I’m going to weigh myself, I’m going to be weighed at a check-up appointment, and then I’m putting my scale away until the next Monday – which just happened to be my 8 month “anniversary” from surgery. I’ve weighed myself every single day for 14 months and I just need to relax for a week. That does NOT mean relax from staying on plan… but relax by letting go of the number fixation. I feel like it’s starting to become unhealthy. NO MORE! At least for now…

Like I said, I don’t know if it’s a good idea or not, but I’m promising right now that I’m going to let go of my obsession for a single week, and see how it goes. Wish me luck lol!

5 thoughts on “I’ve made a decision to break up!

  1. This may be a great idea! I know on a previous weight loss adventure, I weighed myself every three days and even that got a little frustrating at times, but I wish you all the best!

  2. I decided last month to only weigh once a week. It was getting frustrating because when you have less to lose you lose it slower, so although I could be happy sometimes with a 2-3lb loss for the week, when I was weighing every couple of days seeing it go slow or not move at all was driving me crazy. It’s still hard to wait the week because you have no idea what kind of week you were having until you step on the scale, but whatever I lose always makes me feel less frustrated when i weigh in only once a week, and then after weigh in day which is sundays I try to put the scale out of my mind, focus on staying on track and then hoping that I have decent results the next weigh in day. I think especially at this point in our journeys it’s better not to weigh every day, especially when we get use to 5-10lbs weekly losses and then it goes down to 2-3lbs.

  3. Good luck! I am a weigh-myself-every-day person too, and I know exactly what you mean about the obsession! I think it will be really healthy for you. You’ll probably start focusing on how you feel, how your clothes fit (and other things like that) a bit more.

    (btw – loving your blog!)

    • Thanks – and thanks for reading!!

      I’m on my 3rd morning without weighing…. it’s getting easier, although I’m still curious to know if I’ve lost anything! I had a therapy appointment last night and my therapist is behind the once a week weighing among other things…. I’ll have to write about it in more detail soon!

  4. Found your blog linked to another one, and love it! You are an amazing person and I am so inspired by your journey. I’m on day 1 of the Optifast program, and look forward to getting healthier day by day. Cheers! Christy — optifastadventurer.blogspot.com I look forward to following you!

Leave a Reply

