An NSV Revisited: Seatbelt Space w/ Pic

A long time ago, I made a post with an NSV showing (in a picture) the extra space I had in my seatbelt. There was a time just as I was starting the supervised diet that it was becoming a serious struggle to buckle my seat belt in my car and that was VERY scary for me. Forget about fastening it when I had my winter coat on – no way it would happen!

I am getting so close to several scale victories and I’m starting to get impatient. In a few pounds I will be “overweight” with my BMI, I will weigh less than my husband, and I’m 10 lbs away from being in the 100s. After losing 233 or so pounds, I want to reach these goals SO badly that I’m going a little nuts.

So, today after leaving the gym, I decided to give myself a little perspective. I took the entire seat belt out, clicked it in, and then took a picture of the extra seat belt that was available. As you can see in the picture below, it sticks out so far that I had a hard time getting a picture of it! This is really what I need to focus on during this time! The holidays have been tough, I’ve been working on weight loss for almost 14 months and I need to get back to celebrating these kinds of victories and reminding myself of how far I’ve come – rather than thinking about how I have 40 more lbs to go to my goal.

P.S. I’ll provide a gym update. Two months ago I joined a gym… since then I’ve been going about 4-5 times per week doing some light weight lifting (two separate people have made comments about my arms looking really good – not knowing that I’ve been lifting – woohoo!) and I’ve been working on the Couch25K app. I just finished “Week 4” – I can’t believe that I’ve come that far… during Week 1, I couldn’t imagine running for a total of 16 minutes. It’s VERY exciting! 🙂

IMG_20131229_110740_679

4 thoughts on “An NSV Revisited: Seatbelt Space w/ Pic

  1. talk about a photo saying a thousand words!! so unreal. yesterday i had this panic about the thought that i am going to get my stomach cut out. my stomach CUT out. that seems like such a drastic barbaric measure! and i start thinking “just eat less”….”you don’t need the surgery”… then this morning i take my blood sugar which is normally high (about 169) and it is 280. tears and crying and yet here it is lunch time and im eating a cold cut sandwich and cookies. i need serious drastic measures. a lot of therapy too. something is WRONG with me. you have come so far. that picture just makes me want to DO it. but what made you truly believe that you NEEDED the surgery. what makes the difference now? you could still graze all day and gain your weight back….so it’s not like its IMPOSSIBLE to eat bad and gain weight. but why is is different this time?

  2. Woohoo! Great job! I know I can’t wear mine right now and I get panicky around cops. I’m waiting for one to pull me over and give me a $150 ticket (FL.) I’ve read a lot of your posts and you are doing great! Can’t wait to get my journey started!
    Stay blessed!
    -Jessica B.

      • Well, I’ve gotten a referral from my PCP (I was initially suppose to have a different surgery), and I’ve just been researching A LOT! I found obesityhelp.com and I think I’ve read up to your day before surgery post. I know that I want the VSG. I’m not really sure where to go from here, but I’m looking at doctors, insurance, and looking for supervised diets and YouTube videos. I really hope to have the surgery this year. In September, I’ll be 25 and I really want to start living my life and not be this invisible blob that doesn’t care.

Leave a Reply

