Today, I’m half the woman I used to be…

Today was officially a scale victory for sure! I woke up this morning and weighed in at 221.8 lbs. I started at my heaviest weight last November 20th at 444.2 lbs. That means my 222.4 lb loss in just over a year puts me at HALF of my starting weight. We’re not talking Excess Weight Loss % (EWL) – we’re talking 50% of my starting body weight. It’s crazy to think that I’m literally half the woman I used to be – can’t even wrap my head around it!

Just as an update, things have been going well for me. I haven’t had any real stalls lately and I’m hoping that my body will be nice enough to get me out of the 220s before it does! I have been going to the gym about 4-5 times per week and I feel good. Everyday I tell myself that I’ll just go… and then if I want to leave after 5 minutes – then so be it! It really helps me to “take the pressure off” and keep in mind that I’m not being forced to go to the gym – or stay there. Nobody is watching what I’m doing and nobody is keeping track. I find myself ending up there for 40-50 minutes, which is great. I’ve been doing some light weight lifting and I’m working on the Couch25K program. I just finished Week 2, but I think I’ll give Week 2 a few more days before I move on to Week 3.

The non-scale victories that I’ve been experiencing lately are almost too many to count. Jogging/walking on the treadmill is certainly one of them! I found myself at a meeting the other day sitting in a type of chair that used to cause me SO much pain, discomfort, and embarrassment. Well, during my meeting the other day I was comfortably sitting in it, turned sideways with my legs comfortably crossed! One of my “30 by 30” goals was to “fear no chair” – and I’ve now crossed that one off the list! Woohoo!

I also have a hard time wrapping my head around the fact that I’m firmly wearing a size 16 pants and large shirts. WOW! It’s crazy! I bought a bunch of large short sleeved shirts back when I was wearing a 2X, hoping I could fit into them by spring and here I am fitting into them pretty well by the start of December. I can’t ever imagine wearing a medium… so maybe they will be forever shirts, instead of transitional ones? lol

I look forward to celebrating Thanksgiving today with my Mom, her husband, my Brother, my Sister, and my husband. We’re driving 2 1/2 hours, hanging out for awhile, and then coming back. We weren’t confident in the roads on Thursday, so we decided to celebrate today. Time for some turkey and green beans! 🙂

My upcoming mini-goals are to FINALLYYYYY get out of the “obese” category and just be considered overweight! Then, I’m looking forward to weighing less than my 202 lb husband. Then… it’s the BIG ONE – “onderland.” It has been a decade since my weight has started with the number “1” and there will be MANY tears if it ever does again!

4 thoughts on “Today, I’m half the woman I used to be…

    • Thank you so much!! I am so proud of you as well. I would love to meet you someday… maybe at next year’s OH Conference?? I was so jealous of all of the people that went and met each other this year lol!

      Onderland seems so far awayyyy! But we’ll both get there – I have faith!

Leave a Reply

