Sometimes the past hits you like a ton of bricks….

So, I’m coming up on six months out from surgery in a few days and a little over a week away from the one year mark of starting the supervised diet. I’m excited to write a post recapping the last year and also to share some before and “during” pictures (FYI – this is not that post lol).

I was looking through some pictures here at work there are saved in a shared network folder from a summer event that took place in July 2011. I knew there were a few candid photos of me in there (since I never POSED for the camera back then), so I went in search of them to use for my upcoming post.

WOW…. photos do NOT lie. I took one look at the picture and suddenly got emotional – right here in my office. Who is this person? I remember her…. she was in pain, she was miserable, and she felt alone in her struggles! The past really hit me like a tons of bricks.

Thank God for all of you, for this surgery, and for giving me the good sense to wake up, get real, and take action. Here is one of the photos I found (and this isn’t even at my heaviest, nor does it show you my entire body – but you get the idea):

DSC_0009

4 thoughts on “Sometimes the past hits you like a ton of bricks….

  1. Look how far you’ve come! Think about how many years you’ve added to your life! I just had my surgery 6 days ago! I’ve lost 19 lbs since I began this journey, 6 of those since the surgery! Your story inspires me!

    • Congrats on your success so far! SO happy for you! Thank you so much for the kind words. It seems like it’s been such a long road already, yet time has really flown by… make the most of this great gift we’ve both been given!!

  2. wow this is amazing!

    i know exactly how you feel. i was looking at photos of myself earlier this year pre-op and i got SO emotional. had such mixed feelings. was thinking WHO IS THIS FAT GIRL?? but with that, also remembering her so well and how i felt at the time, and sometimes i still just feel like *me*.

    but it is sad to see yourself like that. brings up a lot of emotions. well done for taking this step, girl!

  3. You’re doing so fantastically that it’s hard to believe you once looked like that. But I think it’s important not to lose sight of what we came from so that we appreciate where we are and what we look like/feel like now. Keep on being awesome…you are such a great role model for so many, me included!

Leave a Reply

