Paranoia or Friend Distancing Herself?

I have a friend that I work with that I’ve known for a little over four years. This friend has always come back to my office and chatted about lots of different things MULTIPLE times per day. She used to text me at times and we would walk through the building to get a drink from the vending machine at times for a little mid-day break.

In the past two months, I’ve noticed that she has been distant. She doesn’t appear to have any issues with me, we still talk when I initiate conversation, but she NEVER comes back to my office, never really talks when I’m in the reception area at her desk, and we never go to get a drink anymore (she declines when I ask).

This friend has always been a normal weight, but has put some on in the past 3-4 months and has been really upset about it. So… I’m wondering now if this distance she has put beetween us is due to that or if I’m just being paranoid? I’m wondering if seeing me losing lots of weight while she’s sensitive about gaining it has caused her to pull back?

At first, I enjoyed the distance because sometimes it was hard to get work done with the amount of times that she popped back in my office, but I’m hoping that my success isn’t the cause of the distance. I realize there really isn’t anything I can do, but I guess I just wonder now if I’m just being silly for thinking that it has anything to do with me and my weight loss, or maybe I’m on to something?

I guess I will never know unless I ask, but that’s definitely not a conversation I plan to have lol

2 thoughts on “Paranoia or Friend Distancing Herself?

  1. absolutely… you and I used to be neck-in-neck shortly after you had your surgery (I had mine on March 5th)… now I’m about 26 pounds more than you. Am I happy for your amazing progress? Yes! Does it make me feel bad about myself / down a bit, week after week, and month after month… yep. I’m happy about your unusually awesome loss, I truly am, but for the past few months it’s left me with the increasing exasperation of “why is she now THERE and I’m up HERE… ” Silly but I hope that gives you a glimpse of how others COULD feel. I think sometimes people with poor self esteem clutch onto us as heavy people to make themselves feel better about themselves. No i KNOW they do this. You no longer serve that need/purpose for her. That’s what I think. Hell with her anyway!

    • I’m so sorry to hear that you feel this way, Lisa but I do understand where you are coming from. Believe it or not, I can sometimes feel this way too. Sometimes I read posts about people having “treats” and eating “whatever they want, just less of it” yet they are still losing weight. I sit here and think, “WTF, I don’t eat ANYTHING that isn’t on my plan or stray one bit and the scale hasn’t moved in two weeks!”

      Hang in there… again, I’m sorry to hear you feel this way and I wish there was something I could do to help. You’ve been very supportive and I really appreciate that!

Leave a Reply

