If you want my body AND you think I’m sexy!!

No… this is not THAT kind of post! lol Just another general posting about how my life has changed so much for the better and a story about a great night! 🙂

On Monday evening, I went to see Rod Stewart perform at a concert in my hometown. I’m not a huge Rod Stewart fan or anything, but my friend happened to get a few free tickets and a bunch of my girlfriends were going, so we all decided to make a night out of it. We went out to dinner at the Texas Roadhouse and then off to the concert we went!

Somewhere in the middle of the concert, I all of a sudden got very emotional. Nobody else could tell that I was starting to get tears in my eyes. I started thinking about how much my life has changed from almost a year ago. Last year at this time, I was at my rock bottom, weighing in at 444 lbs and just absolutely miserable. I never would have gone to the concert when asked and if for some reason I had… I would’ve had anxiety about fitting about every little detail of the evening.

First, I would have had anxiety about fitting in a booth at the restaurant. Then, I would’ve been worried about whether or not I would’ve been able to fit in the arena seats (which I really wouldn’t have been able to). If I had been able to squeeze into the seats, I would’ve been uncomfortable and in pain. I would have been worried about encroaching on the space of the person next to me. I would’ve been worried about breaking the seat (I’ve broken a stadium seat before, ugh!). I would not have had anything to drink during dinner, because I wouldn’t have wanted to have the possibility of needing to move past people in the middle of the concert to go to the bathroom. Needless to say, I would have been miserable and it was my weight that was causing it!

The good news is that I slid right into the booth. I enjoyed my delicious grilled shrimp skewers! I drank like a fish (water) during dinner. I had no trouble passing by people to get to my seat. I had no trouble sitting in the seat. I was comfortable (as you can be in that cramped place!) I didn’t encroach on anyone’s space. I didn’t break the seat. Most importantly… I was there in the first place. I wasn’t worrying the entire time. I’m out there living life and starting to not even think about the worries listed above. It’s these thoughts and feelings of happiness that almost brought me to tears.

I tried to explain all of this to my husband and he just didn’t understand. Nobody in my life would understand, and I’m glad because if they did then that means they would be familiar with the torture I described above and I wouldn’t want that for anyone.

As for the concert… I was actually surprised that I knew all but 3 songs that he played (and two were new ones). I have to say, the man can sing and it was clear that he wasn’t singing to a track. Not too many “artists” can really sing these days! Oh, and for all of you ladies out there that love a little Rod Stewart in your life, here is a pic just for you 😉 (terrible quality!)

IMG_20131014_210319_912

2 thoughts on “If you want my body AND you think I’m sexy!!

  1. Oh, I completely know where you’re coming from. I can’t tell you how often I’ve had to sit in handicapped seating at theater events, or have just not gone because a concert would mean standing all night or being in pain. I have broken chairs. I have just not fit places. It is such a relief to be going in the right direction. Every day I am a little more comfortable.

Leave a Reply

