3 Months Out: Who IS This Person?? (w/ pics)

On Tuesday, I was officially three months out from surgery. I’m a couple of days away from being 9 months out from when I started the six month supervised diet and decided to change my life for the better! Woohoo! Every month, I take progress pictures and am always amazed at how far I’ve come and I try not to dwell too much on the “how far I have to go” thoughts (even though that is really difficult).

This morning, I weighed in at 275.6 lbs which is exciting. I’m really, really eager to get to 274 and there is a reason for that, but I’ll get into that more when I actually get there lol.

Something I’ve noticed a lot lately is my willingness and desire to get out in the world and do more things. I’ve been much more social in the past couple of weeks than I have in probably 7 or 8 years. It’s crazy! Last Thursday, I went to a bar and played team trivia with my brother-in-law and sister-in-law. On Friday, I went with my husband’s family to a dinner at a restaurant outside of town (where I ate a little bit of food and boxed the rest up when nobody was looking lol). Saturday, I went shopping (which I HATE!) with my Mom and younger sister (she is almost 15 and needed school clothes).

On Sunday, I went to my husband’s grandparents house where his 87 year old grandfather told me he didn’t recognize me again and that I look good. But, then proceeded to yell in front of everyone “I bet you’re keeping track of how much weigh you’ve lost! HOW MUCH WEIGHT HAVE YOU LOST!” Now, I don’t mind this question in general… I tell people how much weight I’ve lost… but EVERYBODY that was there was staring at me… so I said “Oh, it’s a lot!” He didn’t get the hint…. and after a few second pause said, “I BET IT’S OVER 100 LBS!” lol… and I said “Oh, it’s a lot more than that…” and since we were leaving, we just left lol. We left their house to go to my husband’s aunt’s house and of course, the second thing she said to me was “How much weight have you lost” in front of a bunch of other people. It’s crazy! I just wish people could say, “You look great” and leave it at that, at least when I’m in a large group of people. I know that people are just happy, proud, curious, etc. but it’s overwhelming!

I find myself being more social because I have less fear. I find myself less worried about “If I go to this bar to play trivia are people going to moo at me? (This has happened) Can I fit on the bar stool or in the booth where we sit? Will I be able to sit in the lawn chairs that are on my husband’s grandparent’s front porch? (Yes, believe it or not I’ve not gone to visit them at their home in a long time during the summer for this very reason) Last night, I went to a minor league baseball game with a friend of mine – something I never would have done before because I would be afraid I would break the seats, be uncomfortable, or just not fit. Yes, I’ve gone to a sports stadium in the past and broken a seat because I had to get up and down so many times for people to get through – how embarrassing!

My friend thought I was silly last night for being concerned about fitting into the seats. She just doesn’t get it – and thank god for that…. I would never wish someone else to feel that kind of anxiety. That’s why I’m so glad I’ve gone to great lengths to get healthy. I hope I can keep it up. I’ve lost almost 170 lbs and have 100-110 lbs to go depending on where I want my final goal to be…

I look at the before pictures below and I wonder, “Who IS this person????” – it’s crazy how far I’ve come. I never want to forget what it feels like to be that size, so that I hopefully never go back… but it’s easy to want to try to push it aside and pretend like it never happened. Well, without further ado, here are my latest progress pics!

Front_08132013

Back_08132013

Left_08132013

Right_08132013

16 thoughts on “3 Months Out: Who IS This Person?? (w/ pics)

  1. You look so great! I am excited to feel like this also and have that weight gone. My mother in law had the surgery in April and is about 4 months out. She is down to a size 12 pants and is so excited about it. She is also excited for my hubby and I that we will be soon having the surgery. She was telling me the other night when she was showing me her pants, just wait this will be you in a few months! November is my surgery, date not definite yet, but we are getting closer! I have about 170 lbs to lose to get to my goal weight. Its hard to imagine losing that much weight! Reading your blog has been great! Thank you for sharing! Its so exciting to see your progress!

    • Thank you so much for the kind words. I am SO happy for your MIL, you and your husband. November will be here before you know it. November will be 1 year since starting the supervised diet (for me) and it has just FLOWN by…. sometimes I still can’t believe that surgery is in my rear view mirror by 3 1/2 months. Let me know if you have any questions or need any kind of support!!

  2. You look fantastic!!! You can really tell! I hate when people blurt out “How much weight have you really lost” in front of a crowd. You know everyone is staring at you, but don’t you wry, you look great!!!

  3. You look great!! I can completely understand not want to go certain places because of fear of seating. There are many things that I don’t do now because of that fear. I am only 11 days postop, and I know that some time in the near future I won’t have to have that concern either. Kudo’s to you for getting out there and living your life! Keep up the hard work!!

    • Girl, the day that you slide easily into a booth at a restaurant is going to be a memorable one 🙂 I must have said 100 times to my husband the first time we went to Applebee’s (our favorite place) “Look how much room I have between me and the table!??!”

      How are you feeling? I hope you are healing well! Hang in there and CONGRATS!

  4. You look fantastic! HUGE change. I completely understand what you shared about wondering if you’re going to fit on a barstool or in a chair at a restaurant. It’s something most people will probably never understand. I had my surgery 4/16/13 and loved seeing your success. It’s so encouraging! Best of luck to you.

    • Thanks for the kind words – how have you been healing? Everything going well? I’m starting to get to the point where I feel confident in sitting in any chair – HOWEVER, that doesn’t mean that I don’t still worry… whether it’s irrational or not!! lol I wonder if it will EVER really go away?

  5. You are amazing and such an inspiration for a pre-op like me. I can so relate to so many of the worries and humiliations you describe above. Thank you for chronicling your journey.

    • Thank you so much for the kind words. There were so many people that helped me along the way and I love to try and return the favor. It’s SO nice to find people online that can understand what you’re going through!!

Leave a Reply

