6 Months of “Taking Charge”, Update, and Small Goals

Today, May 20th, marks exactly six months since I decided to take control of my weight and take accountability for the position I have put myself in throughout the last 10 years. I started the surgeon and insurance required six month supervised diet for a Vertical Sleeve Gastrectomy (VSG) on November 20th. It’s crazy to think that it’s been six months already. I thought this time was going to creep by so slowly… and at first it did, but I found that after about 2 1/2 months, the time really started to fly. Not only is it a six month “anniversary” of my journey, but it has also been a week since I had surgery. I thought I would offer an update as well as a few small goals I have set my sights on for the upcoming month!

Surgery on May 13th went very well. I have convinced myself (with no scientific proof) that my easy recovery has had a lot to do with changing my behaviors during the supervised diet and losing 108.8 lbs beforehand. I found that the pain I have had post-surgery has been very manageable and not as bad as I was expecting. I’ve read a lot of posts on message boards and blogs describing some really tough times after surgery! I can’t imagine how hard it would have been to walk around or operate on my at 444 lbs.

I only had to stay one night in the hospital and since Day 1 I have met the protein and fluid goals that are a part of my plan (60 grams of protein and 64 ounces of fluids). I have not thrown up, experienced nausea, or felt like I’ve been drinking too fast. I will say that I’m having a mental struggle with wanting to move on from the full liquid diet that I have been one for three weeks! I’m not physically hungry really, I just want to have something else! I’m supposed to have another week of this diet before adding in cottage cheese, ricotta cheese, and eggs; however, I’m shamefully wishing that my surgeon will tell me tomorrow during a check-up that I can move forward slowly since I’ve been having an easy time. I don’t know if that’s normal or even possible… but hey, a girl can dream! lol

I haven’t taken any medication since last Friday and I’m feeling well. I got out of the house today for a work function for about 4 1/2 hours; however, I am not scheduled to go back to work completely until May 29th. I don’t think that should be a problem!

SO….. what am I looking forward to now? Well, I’ve decided to set a few mini-goals to focus on for now. My birthday is coming up on June 27th (I’ll be 28 years old) and I’m hoping to accomplish two goals by that time. First, I’d like to get down to 302.1 lbs, as that is exactly 50% to my goal of 160 lbs (started at 444.2 lbs). That number is very close to my second goal of being under 300 lbs by then. Now, that’s 5 1/2 weeks to lose 25.2 lbs, so we’ll see whether or not it’s possible. If I don’t make it… that’s ok! I just like to look forward to something that seems attainable!

Thanks for the continued support and best wishes!

3 thoughts on “6 Months of “Taking Charge”, Update, and Small Goals

Leave a Reply

