Big Milestones, Insurance Approval, and Struggles

It’s been a few days since I’ve last posted and big things have been happening in my journey to getting healthy and having weight loss surgery (vertical sleeve gastrectomy) or VSG. One of the most exciting things that has happened since I last wrote is that I finally hit the 100 lbs lost milestone on Friday, May 3, 2013!! Wooohooo!! This was VERY exciting… I can’t believe that in 5 1/2 months, I was able to lose 100 lbs. It feels like such a victory, but at the same time… a little daunting that I still have so, so far to go…

Since Friday, I’ve also lost a few more pounds, thanks to the two week “full liquid” pre-op diet that I have to be on prior to surgery (down 103 lbs total). “Full liquid” is a weird term to me, as my doctor’s office requires you to have a protein shake for breakfast, lunch, and dinner and then you can have a few different things to make up your 2-3 snacks per day. For my snacks, I’ve been having the 0% fat Fage greek yogurt, chicken broth, and sugar free pudding. It’s been pretty easy to still to this diet in terms of PHYSICAL hunger… but man, did I feel myself getting REALLY frustrated and cranky yesterday. Again, I wasn’t PHYSICALLY hungry, but mentally I was feeling tired, unable to concentrate, and really just wanting to eat meat… lol… I guess the lack of food is getting to me a bit, BUT I better get used to it, at least until about June 13th when I can start eating a little bit of moist lean meats. I really struggled yesterday, but I’m feeling much better this morning!

So, throughout this entire six month supervised diet process, I have been super stressed about getting insurance approval for the procedure. I knew that a denial from insurance would mean that the surgery definitely wouldn’t happen. My insurance company requires that I show documentation that I have had a BMI of over 40 for at least two years. I had two documents that were 3 and 7 years old and worried about it not being enough. THEN, I was worried that the doctor’s office wouldn’t have the paperwork to the insurance company with enough time to approve the procedure before the 13th. So, I called on Friday to make sure that the information that the doctor’s office resent had finally be put into their system. The rep I talked to on the phone said that not only could she see that the information was in the system, but that it also had been APPROVED already. The can’t describe the relief that I felt!

So, now I”m going to keep doing what I need to do. I’m hoping that the lack of hunger that I feel on the pre-op diet continues and that I keep losing weight, although it does concern me to think that I’ve lost 12 lbs in the last 6 days… yikes!

Wish me luck!

3 thoughts on “Big Milestones, Insurance Approval, and Struggles

  1. Yay!!! You have done such a great job so far! I was STARVING on my 2 week PREOP diet and cheated a few times so you are doing way better than me. The amazing thing since my surgery (almost 5 weeks out) is that I haven’t been hungry. I’ve had the ability to fight my cravings, and man do I have them, but without the hunger that comes on so fast I’ll eat anything. I love my sleeve and you will too!

Leave a Reply

