Feeling Really “Over It”

So, as I mentioned last week, I met with the surgeon on April 23rd and at the appointment, I was scheduled for surgery. It was easy to get a date for surgery and QUICK too. Yikes, May 13th! That left me with 5-6 days before starting the two week full liquid diet. In the 2-3 weeks prior to getting the date, I had been feeling really tempted by a lot of bad food. I don’t know why, but I really found myself starting to subscribe to the idea that I should have “food funerals” in the few days leading up to the pre-op diet. I wasn’t feeling like I wanted to pig out, but I just wanted to not worry about it for a few days…. and basically get lazy lol. BUT, I found that it wasn’t as great as I thought it would be!

So, from last week when I learned of my surgery date, I decided that I was going to eat my typical breakfast, morning snack, lunch, and afternoon snack… but then eat whatever I wanted for dinner. I found myself getting not the greatest things for dinner and eating a lot of cookies lol. Ugh… you would think that it would be exciting but it really wasn’t. I remember thinking to myself (I’d rather have the scale go down lol) and feeling sick from the sugar. I realized that I wasn’t getting the same kind of satisfaction from eating these things that I used to prior to six months ago. To be honest…. I was really just kind of feeling “over” the whole eating crappy food thing. It just didn’t taste good to me. That should have made me happy, but I guess I’m kind of feeling a little weird about it. I guess I just thought that it would be more exciting… when really, I thought “Was this worth a week of my weight not going anywhere?” I just kind of feel “blah” about the whole thing!

Now, I will say that I’ve had a nasty cold for over a week and haven’t really had a big appetite. Maybe it was just the cold that “ruined” my excitement of the “final meals?” I’m hoping that this lack of appetite continues though as I started the liquid diet today. I’m going to be dead honest here…. it’s been a piece of cake. Oh, how I wish that this would continue… but I know that it’s not possible to go 13 more days without feelings of hunger. I’ve eaten/drank three protein shakes, greek yogurt, a sugar free pudding, and some chicken broth. That totals about 728 calories… it’s 8:30 p.m. and I’m not hungry at all.  I’m really not sure why that is, but for now I’m not going to question it.

I can’t believe the date is approaching. I’m getting nervous! I’m looking forward to getting a boost in weight loss over the next two weeks after not having the scale move at all for this past week when I’ve eaten poorly. I’m really wanted to get to the 100 lbs lost before surgery and I don’t think it’ll be a problem as I only have about 8 lbs to go! It will be a great feeling, so I’m going to focus on that and try to forget about the fact that it’s going to be a longgggg time before I’m eating something solid again. Actually, at this point… I could care less… food just doesn’t seem appetizing and last week wasn’t all that exciting. Hopefully it’s a shift in mindset and has less to do with being sick (fingers crossed) lol!

4 thoughts on “Feeling Really “Over It”

  1. U can do this! I had a food funeral before the surgery lol. The first 3 days of the liquid diet were hard. All I could have was 5 shakes and water a day nothing else. It got easier after that.. Detoxing is the worst when u r over the hump you’ll be a natural congrats in ur date!

  2. Awesome! Congrats on your surgery date! And that’s just one week after my surgery so we’re kind of surgery sisters. 🙂 I’ve been having last meal syndrome like crazy. But I totally get what you’re saying about being grossed out by it. I’ve gone back and forth like I want a shake bc I can’t have those after next week to yuck I wish I could just be done and eating healthy bc this fried food is just not appealing anymore.

    • Yay! I like that – surgery sisters! Congrats on getting a date and good luck. The food funeral/last meal stuff really isn’t all it’s cracked up to be… I definitely didn’t get anything out of it. Food just isn’t what it used to be… which is a good thing for sure. I’m in Day 3 of the liquid diet and so far, so good…. I haven’t felt hungry at all. Hopefully it stays that way!

Leave a Reply

