Pre-Op Diet: Month 4

On Monday, I traveled to Danville, PA to visit the hospital where I will be (hopefully) having my Vertical Sleeve Gastrectomy or VSG surgery. Usually, I check in with the doctor each month and attend classes at the local weight management office for this medical group; however, this month I was required to attend a “surgery education class” and this type of class has to be held in the facility where they actually perform surgeries!

Before I get into my weigh in, I have to admit that I’ve been a bit frustrated for almost two weeks now. It seemed like I kept getting in a “stall” every time I reached a new set of numbers on the scale (as I’ve mentioned before) e.g. 390s, 380s, 370s, etc. About two weeks ago, I broke into the 370s, which was exciting, and went through my normal “stall”… so then when the scale started to move and got down to around 376, I thought “Hey, this is great, I’m about 1.5 lbs away from my pre-surgery goal of 375.” Then, I gained a pound, then another pound, then lost a pound, then gained a half, then lost, etc. You get the idea. I’ve been playing MAJORLY with the same 1.5 – 2 lbs for the past (almost) two weeks.

I was prepared for something like this to happen in the sense that it isn’t a surprise to me; however, I’m finding that it still isn’t easy to deal with mentally. I feel very motivated by the numbers on the scale dropping and I’d like to pretend that it isn’t important to me, but that’s just not the case. Also, I know that I shouldn’t weigh myself every day; however, that’s easier said than done for a lot of people.

So, on the day of the appointment, on my home scale I weight 375.8ish. I was thinking that I might weigh in at the doctor’s office around the typical 2 – 2.5 lbs more than my scale. WELL, I didn’t weigh in at the regular doctor’s office (like I mentioned above) and at their office I was 379.9 lbs… what the hell!! I was still down about 8 pounds (in their records) from last appointment about 3 weeks ago, but I was still frustrated!

I’ve increased my exercise lately. At work, I have to park a decent distance away from the building I work in on campus, so for the past couple of days I have been walking from my car TO the building in the morning AND back to the car in the afternoon. I’m hoping this will help me break this stall because I’M GOING CRAZY! 🙂

The rest of the doctor’s visit was not eventful. I saw a doctor that I don’t normally see since I wasn’t at my normal facility and when he checked my weight loss (to make sure I had hit the 10% body weight loss goal) he said…. “WOAH!” lol…. perhaps they don’t see too many patients drop around 70 lbs in month 4… so that was exciting. I spent about 5 minutes total with him and then attended a surgery education class which really only described each surgery and the risks. No new information!

So, while I’m still a week and a half shy of being 4 months along in my weight loss journey, the weight management considers March to be “Month 5” in my process. WOW is it getting real. I have ONE last check-in with the doctor in April to complete the six month diet and a few days later I do my LAST activity which is the psych eval… which I’m definitely not too worried about at all. At that point, they will write the letter to insurance and schedule an appointment with the surgeon that will be doing the surgery. I believe at that point they go ahead and schedule a date for the surgery, anticipating that insurance will approve. It’s crazy to think that this process is moving so quickly now.

Well, that’s all for tonight folks. I will post again to let you know when I finally, OFFICIALLY hit the 375.0 lb mark on the scale. This was my big goal to reach before surgery and I will not accept 375.4 (which is the lowest I’ve been at) as a success! LOL

Thanks for reading and your continued support. It has really helped me with my supervised diet success thus far!

3 thoughts on “Pre-Op Diet: Month 4

  1. Did you ever worry that losing weight pre-op would cause you to be disqualified by insurance? I am at a 42.9 BMI and the insurance cut off is 41 without apnea, diabetes or hypertension. I am going for a sleep study, but think that it is unlikely that I have apnea. I want to create these great new habits now, but I am afraid of losing too much.

Leave a Reply

