What is a Vertical Sleeve Gastrectomy or VSG

As more and more people get in touch with me about my blog, I thought it would be nice to include some information related to the Vertical Sleeve Gastrectomy or VSG weight loss surgery. I came across two videos on YouTube that I thought would be information. The first video does a pretty good job of explaining the procedure in an animation.  The second video actually shows the procedure in action, so beware… this video is NOT for the easy queasy!! 🙂

The Vertical Sleeve Gastrectomy Explained

An explanation of the Vertical Sleeve Gastrectomy surgery in animation, created by the Alta Bates Summit Medical Center’s Bariatric Surgery Program

The Vertical Sleeve Gastrectomy Performed

Dr Jossart and Cirangle are the leaders in the vertical sleeve gastrectomy (VSG). They are pioneers in weight loss surgery and have the most experience on the west coast. Laparosocpic Associates of San Francisco (WWW.LAPSF.COM) have performed more sleeve gastrectomies than any practice in the world. LapSF boasts the lowest complication rates, as well as the highest patient success rates. LapSF is unique among weight loss surgery practices, as they personalize weight loss surgery plans that match patient needs. They also have an in-house dieititan and therapist that provide additional support in the weight loss surgery journey.

6 thoughts on “What is a Vertical Sleeve Gastrectomy or VSG

    • LOL, I warned you!!! I think it’s a good thing to understand what it is we’re doing… but definitely gross. I was more grossed out by the fat than anything else. Ugh, to think I have hundreds of pounds of it one me…. yuk!

  1. I found your blog on obesityhelp.com, and WOW your results are amazing! I am currently doing my 6 months supervised diet, and plan to have surgery March/April 2014. I also found it interesting that you had Dr. Cirangle’s video on your page (he is my boyfriends cousin) and although I would love to have him do the surgery I’m in Raleigh, NC. I do have a question for you. I am extremely concerned about excess skin after surgery. Have you had any issues with your skin or has working out helped?

    • Congrats on taking this step! I hear a lot of good things about Dr. Cirangle and his program. I’ve been following the guidelines he sets out for his patients, rather than my own office’s guidelines – as they would have me eating 1200 calories a day right now! Yikes!

      I do have excess skin…. but considering I’ve lost 230 lbs, I thought it would be a lot worse. That is not to say that it’s good… I would still need plastic surgery to look somewhat normal (which I plan to have!) Excess skin depends on genetics, age, smoking/non-smoking habits, sun exposure, how overweight you were, how long you were overweight, etc. Unfortunately working out will only get you so far. I use “spanx” type shapewear during the day to smooth things out and that works well. I don’t know what I’ll do in the summer about my arms! :/ I haven’t had any issues with rashes or anything like that… the issues I have with the excess skin are mostly vanity, but it can be difficult for clothes to fit correctly and the stomach skin does cause some functional problems when I work out (which is why I wear shapewear to the gym too!)

  2. Thanks! I guess I should plan on saving for cosmic surgery too, which I don’t mind-seeing as a little extra skin has to be better than 200 extra lbs right? Better boobies sounds great anyway haha!

    How many calories are you eating now, since you are at 11 mths approx? Are you eating a variety of things?

    • I’m at about 700-800 calories per day… I eat the same exact things every day lol… there is a post on here that I did a couple of months ago outlining what I eat everyday! I find that taking the decisions out of eating really helps me stay on track!

Leave a Reply

