You’re So Vain…. You Probably Think This Post is About You!

OK, OK…. I apologize if the title of my post has gotten Carly Simon stuck in your head for the rest of the afternoon. But, I have been having the same topic of vanity rolling around in my head for the past couple of days and wanted to share so that I could see what others thought about it!

I haven’t had surgery yet (so I might be getting ahead of myself)… but I am DETERMINED to get my life on track and live (and feel) the way that a 27 year old woman is supposed to live (and feel). I am three months into the supervised diet and have been successful and I’ve also started to see a therapist, so I really do feel like things are going to be changing in my life in the next 2 years.

I’m concerned though about becoming vain. Why do I think this? Because I have already started doing A LOT of research into plastic surgery. I think that in our positions, this is normal because excess skin from weight loss is a big deal and it’s a good idea to start saving money early – in fact, the plastic surgeon that I’d like to see someday recommends starting to save at the time of WLS.

HOWEVER, what I feel like isn’t so normal is the fact that I found myself Googling Invisalign clear braces the other day. WTF! Why? Because my two front teeth shifted in college after not wearing my retainer long enough and the SMALL gap between my two front teeth has bothered me for years. Then, I have found myself look at tons of clothes online as well as new hairstyles.

I’m starting to feel like I have the potential to become very image conscious after losing my excess weight – which has never been “me”. Am I going too far? ย  I feel like there is a difference between wanting to approve your appearance because you are feeling better about yourself and then completely going overboard. Where is the line? I guess some of the things I’ve been rolling around my head (like the possibility of fixing my teeth) just feel like too much. Then again, maybe I’m just over-worrying like I do with everything!

6 thoughts on “You’re So Vain…. You Probably Think This Post is About You!

  1. I spend a decent amount of time looking at plastic surgery before and after pics too. For me I feel like I have never been thin. I’ve been cury and attractive at 210 but never as a teen on up been at a normal BMI (175) for me. I am going to get to goal and be smoking hot and get a tummy tuck and breast lift. I think the problem comes in when you begin to need everyone to notice you. I just want to look in the mirror and feel sexy again and have my husband wowed by me. Though he does tell me all the time how sexy I am now, I can’t believe he wouldn’t think I was hotter at a normal weight.
    In this PREOP stage we spend a lot of time reading about our surgery and looking to the future. I can only read the same posts on OH so many times so I get the looking at other things you want to change. So basically yes, it could get out of hand if you take it to an extreme but being excited to be sexy and healthy is ok.

    • Thanks for your response! I’m glad that I’m not alone. I guess I had a moment of panic thinking “OMG, am I going to get out of control” because my mind is thinking of all the things I want to do and try! I also thought, “Am I going to go out of control to spend money on and fix too many little things?” Hopefully I don’t go over the line! ๐Ÿ™‚ I have a long, long time to think about it LOL

    • I am right there with you! I think this is normal. I just want to know what I might be able to maybe, hopefully, look like. In particular, I am curious about BL or BA. I have always been “busty.” Even as a teen I wore a C or D bra. Now I’m DD at least. I see a lot of after photos of “busty” women whose breasts deflate and look terrible. It makes me worry that I’ll do all this work and STILL be self conscious if that happens to me. So yes, vain…. but, also normal.

  2. Awesome! I definitely think you should “go for it” with all of those things. I’ve decided, with all the feedback, that I’m not going to worry so much about it and I”m going to “go for it” too! I just have to keep a good head on my shoulders and try not to get too consumed. Thanks for reading!

  3. After six kids, I plan to have a tummy tuck and a boob lift. Otherwise I will still be dragging around loose skin, but my goal is not to do it until I have maintained for over a year. at that point, who knows? I might be ok with it. I do like the invisiline braces. As a former orthodontic assistant, I find that for mild corrections, they are cost effective and easy on the patient. They didn’t have them when I had my braces put on when I was in my twenties and working in ortho, but I wouldn’t have been a candidate for them back then. I never did wear retainers. If you wouldn’t wear them at night for life, it’s probably not worth it.

    And for me, after the boob job, no one will be noticing my one crooked tooth! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

