Pre-Op Diet: Month Three

I’m halfway there – wooohooo! Today I finished the 3rd month of the 6th month supervised diet required by my insurance and doctor’s office to have weight loss surgery (vertical sleeve gastrectomy). Included in this appointment was a “medical evaluation” and one-on-one discussion with the dietitian on staff. Everyone was impressed with my loss so far, which came in as a loss of….

57 lbs!! I have gone from 444.3 lbs on November 20th to 387.7 lbs today, February 12th. I can’t describe how good it feels to be successful thus far. The weight management doctor came into the room at the end of my appointment and said “You are doing well…. you are the star of the clinic!!” LOL Now, I know to most people that sounds silly; however, it was a big motivator to me, because I’m an “overachiever” and very competitive (in a healthy way) and so to hear that I have been standing out as a great patient is a great feeling.

Also, during this appointment they took my blood pressure which was 100/60… normally it is right on target in the normal range at 120/80-ish, so I was actually a little worried that it seemed so low; however, nobody else seemed to be concerned, so I guess I’m good to go?

I was also tested to see how many calories that I would need to eat in a day (currently) to maintain my weight. WELL, I guess I found out why I’ve lost so much weight in this time… I could eat 2,497 calories per day and maintain my weight and I’m eating 1400-1650 now. That is REALLY scary… and I can’t imagine eating that amount of food now. I’m hoping that this perception change will last for the long haul.

SO, the next step is to go to a surgical seminar on March 4th and meet with nurses that are on the surgical staff. I also need to call tomorrow to schedule the psych evaluation, which I don’t anticipate becoming an issue! I’m moving right along!

Originally, I thought that my six month supervised diet for surgery would be considered 11/20 through 5/20… then after that I could submit to insurance, then schedule surgery once I get approval (IF that happens!) which would put a surgery date around late June to early July. HOWEVER, I started looking at the checklist I was given last month, and it appears as though I’ve bee on the program for approximately 3 months… they consider me to be in “Month 4”.  They are counting my very first visit with the doctor in November as “Month 1”, December’s visit as “Month 2”, January’s visit as Month 3, February “Month 4”, March “Month 5”, and April as “Month 6”. WOW!! That could put me at having surgery sometime in May or EARLY June if I’m approved. It’s scary and exciting all at the same time.

Originally, I thought it sucked… but I have to say that this supervised diet has been a blessing in helping me to truly make changes and prepare for this life altering surgery.

Before I sign-off, A couple of people asked me what I eat in a typical day, so here it is (I’m definitely looking for ways to branch out!):

Breakfast (7AM) – Dannon Strawberry Greek Yogurt, and Whole Wheat Bread (1)

Snack (9:30 AM) – Cheesehead Mozerlla Sticks, Light (2)

Lunch (12:00 PM) – Turkey (about 5 oz) sandwich on whole wheat bread, no condiments, full fat slice of American cheese and 1 cup of green beans (sometimes cantaloupe or water melon too)

Snack (3:00 PM) – Beef Jerky (2 oz)

Dinner (6:00 PM) – 5-6 oz of lean meat (Turkey, Turkey Sausage, 96% Lean Beef, Chicken, etc.), 1/4 cup of shredded cheese, 1 cup green beans and sometimes some fruit

Snack (8:00 PM) – JELLO Sugar Free Pudding (1-2)

2 thoughts on “Pre-Op Diet: Month Three

  1. You are doing amazing!! So how come it feels like your 6month supervised diet is flying by yet my 4 month one is crawling at a snails pace? I’m also doing horrible, I lost 12 gained 5 and having trouble staying motivated because I’m always hungry. I worry if I fail now willi fail after surgery 😦

  2. Erin – you’ve got this! You can do it… I know you can. I was a MESS before I started this diet… you have to find what works for you. What has worked for me has been staying militant and allowing NO sugars (outside of fruits and other foods that naturally have sugar) and eliminating the refined carbs (e.g. white bread). I think my pre-op diet is only flying by because I thought it was going to be six calendar months and didn’t realize how far along I was… PLUS, I’ve been too busy with work to think about it. HANG IN THERE!!!

Leave a Reply

