Sleep Study Test Results

A couple of weeks ago, I participated in a sleep study as recommended by my weight management doctor. Sleep apnea is a co-moribidity that causes a person to stop breathing during their sleep due to an obstructed airway. Carrying a lot of excess weight will increase the chances of having sleep apnea, SO due to my weight and need to justify the vertical sleeve gastrectomy (VSG) surgery to my insurance company, the doctor recommended that I participate. On Friday, I had a follow-up appointment with the sleep medicine doctor to hear my results…

I’m happy to say that the news was good. I do not have sleep apnea; however, I did wake up ONE time during the night due to a “respiratory event” which was when I was having a dream. The report that the doctor showed me was pretty cool. It told me that it took me 47 minutes to fall asleep which I found surprising because it felt more like 15 minutes. I spent an appropriate amount of time in N1, N2, N3, and REM sleep. They said that I moved my legs about 30 times, but my brain only recognized it one time and woke up due to the movement. I have a feeling that most of the leg movement came when I was shifting from one side to the other because the lab bed was REALLY uncomfortable! I’m happy to say that my oxygen levels were good as well.

The only thing that my doctor said that wouldn’t be normal is the amount of carbon dioxide that is output when I’m breathing. She said that a number above 25 gets into a zone that starts to cause concern and my number was 25.1. Apparently what this means is that I’m not taking in as much air and then releasing as much air as a normal person. Pretty much she said my breaths are more shallow than a normal person’s breaths. This is due to excess weight on my chest and stomach.  She said that I’m heading in the right direction to resolve the issue.

So to recap my tests so far, I do not have sleep apnea, I have perfect blood pressure, normal cholesterol, no diabetes, no gallstones, and the rest of my bloodwork looks great.  To be completely honest, I feel like it is a miracle that I could manage to get myself up to 444.3 pounds and not have a single other things wrong with me other than super morbid obesity. I feel blessed to have gotten my head in the game and started to lose weight (45 lbs so far) before I could no longer say that I am free of these problems. I know I have a long road ahead of me, but it feels good to be getting healthier everyday.

If you’ve stumbled upon this blog and have never visited http://www.obesityhelp.com, I highly recommend you do so! It has been a HUGE help in my road to becoming Flirty by 30!!! 🙂

One thought on “Sleep Study Test Results

Leave a Reply

