Pre-Op Diet: Month Two

So today marked the end of my second month of the six month, supervised, pre-op diet.  Things have been going pretty well and I”m feeling optimistic! The stomach pain that I was feeling for a couple of weeks seems to be gone now (thank goodness!) I’m continuing to take 40mg of Omeprazole daily so hopefully I won’t be experiencing that anytime soon!!

So, before my appointment with the weight management doctor, I attended my first “Behavior Modification Class.” To be honest, because of the extensive research I’ve done online and via obesityhelp.com about Vertical Sleeve Gastrectomy (VSG) surgery, there wasn’t anything new in the class that I didn’t already know which definitely made me feel good.  I have to say that I was surprised by the kinds of questions that other participants in the class were asking. If they are supposed to be starting “Month 3” of the process – how could they not know the difference between the Lap Band and Gastric Bypass? It’s mind boggling to me!

So, I met with the doctor and weighed in – 19 lbs down since my last visit!! That’s a total of 44 lbs lost since November 20th. What’s really exciting is that my doctor expressed concern that I would lose so much weight by May that I would no longer have a BMI under 50 which is what she says my insurance requires (although I’m pretty sure it’s actually 40?) That was definitely good to hear! Things are right on track! I have already put my first support group meeting on the calendar and my medical evaluation (which will take a few hours) is scheduled for February 12th!

One a final note… I also took a huge step today and that came from asking my weight management doctor if she could refer me to a therapist. For many reasons, I have wanted to do therapy for years… but have never really had the courage to go through with it. I’ve noticed on the OH boards that the most successful VSG patients have gone through therapy and I’m talking about more therapy than just a psychological evaluation to meet the surgery requirements! I know that I didn’t get to be this size because I’m hungry and I truly want to succeed, so hopefully this big personal step of calling the therapist will help!

I’d love to hear about your experiences with the pre-op diet or therapy if you care to share!

2 thoughts on “Pre-Op Diet: Month Two

  1. Congrats!! What an amazing job!! I have had the same experience at the three NUT classes I have gone to. Huge wastes of my time and I’m always shocked at how little people bother to research on their own. No one I talked to had even heard of obesityhelp.com!! Definitely call your insurance company to make sure you are still ok if your BMW goes under 40. %99 chance it’s ok but there was one person who’s YouTube videos I watched who had hers denied because she lost too much weight on her supervised diet. She ended up a self pay so better safe than sorry! Keep up the great work. I have only lost 11 pounds since my first meeting with the surgeon mid Novemeber. You are killing it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

