A Perspective Change

I’ve been pretty hardcore on this six month pre-op diet. I’ve been working on it since November 20th and I think I’m down around 37 lbs. I’m really excited about it as I’m seeing dramatic results without starving myself and following exactly what the doctor told me to do.

It’s amazing how your perspective can change when you start to eat a bit healthier. About once or twice a week, I decide to have fat free sherbet after dinner. I know that this isn’t a 100% healthy snack (despite being fat free) because of the sugar and carbs; however, this is the ONLY sugar that I eat these days that isn’t part of a fruit, whole wheat wrap, etc. I realize that this is a post-op food NO-NO.

Tonight, I found myself scooping out 1 cup of the sherbet. As I was using a small spoon to fill the measuring cup, it hit me that I really felt like I was putting a lot of scoops into the cup. I had put this snack into my food log, so I was not feeling guilty… but it really made me feel like I was getting a big treat tonight. Scoop, scoop, scoop… the one cup measuring cup was STILL not full. When I was finished, I ate it and felt really satisfied.

The reason this really made me stop in my tracks was because there was a time not that long ago that I could (and would) sit and eat almost an entire carton of full ice cream in a single sitting. Not only that, but I would be worried about my husband noticing that I ate all the ice cream (and quickly), so I would go out and buy a replacement. Then, do the typical fat person move where I buried the container deep into the garbage.  What the hell was wrong with me?  I’m truly appreciative of the new perspective I have now… I just hope it stays around because I know continuing to think this way will help me after having vertical sleeve or VSG surgery.

Thoughts?

Leave a Reply

