Why Didn’t I Plan Ahead?

Tonight was my mother-in-law’s annual Christmas Eve get together. My husband and I went out to her house at about 1:00 p.m. and didn’t get home until about 11:00 p.m.

Every year at this party, the typical party foods are available – with desserts galore! Cupcakes and cookies and pies – oh my! I knew what I was going to be up against, but I assume there would be fruits and veggie platters like always. Bad idea – we all know what happens when you assume.

There was NOTHING at this party that would be suitable for me to eat. Considering I had a great first month on the pre-op diet and haven’t had VSG surgery yet, it would have been very easy for me to spend the night eating. The good news is that I didn’t eat a single thing.

The bad news is…. I didn’t eat a single thing. When I got home at around 11:00 p.m., I was starving. The pain in my stomach was TERRIBLE. Although I didn’t break my plan… I could have done so easily and I KNOW it isn’t good to wait until you’re starving to eat. This is part of my old habits that left me eating tons of crappy, readily-available food late at night and then falling asleep.

I’ve learned my lesson… I will plan in the future. Ugh!

One thought on “Why Didn’t I Plan Ahead?

  1. Pingback: Flirty by Thirty | This Weight in History: “Next year at this time, you could look like a whole different person!”

Leave a Reply

